30daychallenge · delicious · highprotein · legumes · Vegan

Smoked Lentils

I got the most AMAZING New Mexico chilis from the farmers market Saturday, that are pecan smoked and organic. I was grabbing my usual veggies when the woman told me that I had to smell the new chilis they have. She opened the bag and I was hooked. The smell was indescribable! If you don’t have access to pecan smoked new mexico chilis no worries. Any type of dried (not too spicy) chili works.


I was about to make a batch of spanish lentils when I opened my cabinet for seasonings and smelled the pecan smoked goodness from the chilis.  Instead of throwing in veggies or Mexican seasonings, I just used 2 of the smoked chilis and fresh garlic cloves.


My house smells amazing. The beans are absolutely perfect, they taste like what you would get at a barbecue restaurant because of the smokey hints and spicy undertones.

This recipe is perfect for my 30 day Unprocessed challenge. I am challenging myself to commit 100% to The Microvore diet. I’m tired of the vegan communities hate for fats. I’m gonna eat 20% fats a day, get in all my vitamins without caring about the amount of fat I am eating or the amount of carbs. Nothing out of a box or a can, just home-cooked local and organic food everyday.

I had these lentils for lunch with roasted veggies! Best Idea ever! You can add these beans to anything.

Enough talk lets get to cooking…

IMG_5949.JPG

Ingredients:

2 cups of spanish lentils

5 cups of vegetable broth

2 dried chilis (I used pecan smoked New Mexico Chilis)

1/2 a cup of chopped red onion

4 small cloves of garlic

2 tablespoons of maple syrup

*If you don’t have access to smoked chilis, try adding in a bit of liquid smoke

Directions:

Heat up 1 cup of vegetable broth in a large pot. Once hot remove from heat and pour into a measuring cup. Add in your dried peppers and garlic and let sit for 10 minutes. Or until chilis are rehydrated.

IMG_5942.JPG

Blend the chilis, garlic and broth until creamy. IMG_5951.JPG

In your large pot add in the 5 cups of vegetable broth, chili mixture and beans.

 

Bring to a boil and then add in your onions and maple syrup (and liquid smoke). Reduce heat and cover. Cook on low heat for 30 minutes or until beans are soft.

IMG_5962IMG_5963

 

Leave a comment